Welcome to the homepage of the “European Computer Vision Association (ECVA)”, a non-profit organization domiciled in Zurich. The Association’s mission is the furthering of information dissemination concerning research on the theory and practice of computer vision. It will promote the field and its researchers by the organisation of dedicated activities.


ECVA will, inter alia, carry out activities to organise the European Conference on Computer Vision (ECCV) series and support the organisers of the ECCV both scientifically and logistically. Below you will find an overview of some past, current and future ECCV conferences for further information.

ECCV City General Chairs Program Chairs Website Papers Web Archive
2020 Glasgow, Scotland Bob Fisher, Emanuele Trucco, Vittorio Ferrari, Cordelia Schmid Andrea Vedaldi, Jan Michael Frahm, Thomas Brox, Horst Bischof
2018 Munich, Germany Horst Bischof, Daniel Cremers, Bernt Schiele, Ramin Zabih Vittorio Ferrari, Martial Hebert, Cristian Sminchisescu, Yair Weiss papers
2016 Amsterdam, Netherlands Theo Gevers, Arnold Smeulders Jiri Matas, Bastian Leibe, Max Welling, Nicu Sebe
2014 Zürich, Switzerland Luc Van Gool, Marc Pollefeys Tinne Tuytelaars, Bernt Schiele, Tomas Pajdla, David Fleet
2012 Firenze, Italy Roberto Cipolla, Carlo Colombo, Alberto Del Bimbo Andrew Fitzgibbon, Svetlana Lazebnik, Yoichi Sato, Cordelia Schmid
2010 Crete, Greece Antonis Argyros, Panos Trahanias, George Tziritas Kostas Daniilidis, Petros Maragos, Nikos Paragios
2008 Marseille, France Jean Ponce David Forsyth, Philip Torr, Andrew Zisserman
2006 Graz, Austria Axel Pinz Horst Bischof, Ales Leonardis
2004 Prague, Czech Republic Vaclav Hlavac Tomas Pajdla, Jiri (George) Matas


Below a comprehensive listing of ECCV awards since 2004.

Best Paper Awards

Martin Sundermeyer, Zoltan Marton, Maximilian Durner, Manuel Brucker, Rudolph Triebel

Implicit 3D Orientation Learning for 6D Object Detection from RGB Images

Best Paper Awards – Honorable Mention

Yuxin Wu, Kaiming He

Group Normalization

Albert Pumarola, Antonio Agudo, Aleix M. Martinez, Alberto Sanfeliu, Francesco Moreno-Noguer

GANimation: Anatomically-aware Facial Animation from a Single Image

Everingham Prize

Alan Smeaton, Wessel Kraaij, Paul Over, George Awad

For a series of datasets and workshops since 2003 that have driven progress in large scale Video Retrieval.

Changchang Wu

For providing a well documented software library for Structure from Motion that has been used effortlessly by so many.

Koenderink Prize

Herve Jegou, Matthijs Douze, Cordelia Schmid

Hamming Embedding and Weak Geometric Consistency for Large Scale Image Search

Helmut Grabner, Christian Leistner, Horst Bischof

Semi-supervised On-Line Boosting for Robust Tracking

Best Paper Awards

Hanme Kim, Stefan Leutenegger, and Andrew J. Davison

Real-Time 3D Reconstruction and 6-DoF Tracking with an Event Camera

Best Paper Awards – Honorable Mention

Jonathan Barron and Ben Poole

The Fast Bilateral Solver

Everingham Prize

Alex Berg, Jia Deng, Fei-Fei Li, Wei, Liu, Olga Russakovsky and team – ImageNet

For a series of datasets and challenges since 2010 that have had such impact on the computer vision field. ImageNet built on the Caltech101/256 datasets, increasing the number of images by orders of magnitude and enabling the development of new algorithms.

Ramin Zabih

For extensive, generous, service to the community: As long-term head of the IEEE PAMI Technical Committee he introduced many reforms, including to the awards process and the relationship to the IEEE. And he has been the driving force in creating and running the Computer Vision Foundation (CVF).

Koenderink Prize

Herbert Bay, Tinne Tuytelaars, and Luc Van Gool

Surf: Speeded up robust features (ECCV 2006)

Edward Rosten and Tom Drummond

Machine learning for high-speed corner detection (ECCV 2006)

Best Student Paper Award

Emma Alexander, Qi Guo, Sanjeev Koppal, Steven Gortler, and Todd Zickler

Focal Flow: Measuring Distance and Velocity with Defocus and Differential Motion

Best Paper Awards

Kevin Matzen and Noah Snavely

Scene Chronology

Jia Deng, Nan Ding, Yangqing Jia, Andrea Frome, Kevin Murphy, Samy Bengio, Yuan Li, Hartmut Neven, Hartwig Adam

Large-Scale Object Classification using Label Relation Graphs

Best Paper Awards – Honorable Mention

Matt Zeiler and Rob Fergus

Visualizing and Understanding Convolutional Neural Networks

PAMI Everingham Prize

Terry and Ginger Boult

For extensive, generous, long-term service to the community in the management of computer vision conferences and workshops.

Koenderink Prize

Thomas Brox, Andrès Bruhn, 
 Nils Papenberg & Joachim Weickert (ECCV 2004)

High Accuracy Optical Flow Estimation 
Based on a Theory for Warping

Timo Ahonen, Abdenour Hadid & Matti Pietikäinen (ECCV 2004)

Face Recognition with Local Binary Patterns

Best Paper Award

Daniel Kuettel, Matthieu Guillaumin and Vittorio Ferrari

Segmentation Propagation in ImageNet

Best Paper Award – Honorable Mention

Kris Kitani, Brian D. Ziebart, James Bagnell and Martial Hebert

Activity Forecasting

Koenderink Prize

Vladimir Kolmogorov and Ramin Zabih

What Energy Functions Can Be Minimized via Graph Cuts?

Best Student Paper Award

Jianxiong Xiao and Yasutaka Furukawa

Reconstructing the World’s Museums

Best Paper Award

L. Laticky, C. Russell, P. Kohli and P.H.S. Torr

Graph Cut based Inference with Co-occurrence Statistics

Runner-Up Paper Award

A. Gupta, A. Efros and M. Hebert

Blocks World Revisited: Image Understanding Using Qualitative Geometry and Mechanics

Koenderink Prize

H. Sidenbladh, M.J. Black and D.J. Fleet

Stochastic Tracking of 3D Human Figures Using 2D Image Motion (ECCV 2000)

M. Weber, M. Welling and P. Perona

For the ECCV’2000 paper entitled: Unsupervised Learning of Models for Recognition

Best Student Paper Award

T. Pätz and T. Preusser

Ambrosio-Tortorelli Segmentation of Stochastic Images

Best Paper Award

Geremy Heitz and Daphne Koller

Learning Spatial Context: Using Stuff to Find Things

Koenderink Prize

Michael Isard and Andrew Blake

Contour Tracking by Stochastic Propagation of Conditional Density (ECCV 1996)

Olivier Faugeras, Quang-Tuan Luong, and Steve Maybank

Camera self-calibration: theory and experiments (ECCV 1992)

Best Student Paper Award

Matthew B. Blaschko and Christoph H. Lampert

Learning to Localize Objects with Structured Output Regression

Longuet-Higgins Best Paper Award

Anat Levin, Yair Weiss

Learning to Combine Bottom-up and Top-down Segmentation

Best Paper Award – Honorable Mention

Samuel W. Hasinoff, Kiriakos N. Kutulakos

Confocal Stereo

Omar Ait-Aider, Nicolas Andreff, Jean Marc Lavest, and Philippe Martinet

Simultaneous Object Pose and Velocity Computation Using a Single View from a Rolling Shutter Camera

Longuet-Higgins Best Paper Award

T. Brox, A. Bruhn, N. Papenberg, and J. Weickert

High Accuracy Optical Flow Estimation Based on a Theory for Warping

Best Paper Award – Honorable Mention

René Vidal and Yi Ma

A Unified Algebraic Approach to 2-D and 3-D Motion Segmentation

Best Paper – Cognitive Vision

Kenji Okuma, Ali Taleghani, Nando de Freitas, James J. Little, and David G. Lowe

A Boosted Particle Filter: Multitarget Detection and Tracking


The Executive Board of the Computer Vision Association